top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Mirrored Lens

Mirror Mirror on the wall I see green I see blue. Rainbows and unicorns ascend into flight, glitter dust on their infamous cloaks. I take charge of one unicorn, dashing over a rainbow of saccharine delight. Leaving behind trails of shimmering blue I step into the uneasy woods, fear clouding my vision- I stumble and fall into the dark. I don't like the dark, there are captured memories here, reminding me of a past best forgotten, a past best left behind. In the dark I must fight for justice and find the key to escape from this treacherous ruin. Mirrored lens are my only hope, through mirrors I can start a new life, start anew. I look in the mirror and see a new dawn where I am not judged for being human, where flaws are the norm.

Today I would like to talk to you about Rock That Look, an accessories and clothing brand that takes inspiration from the vibrant club scene. Like bass boosted production, the collection is catered to those who life life on the wild side and are not afraid to think outside the box. Rock That Look's ethos is simple 'dare to be different' and reject all the rules. Fashion is not about pleasing others but staying true to your own aesthetic. Combining the youth of club culture with a hint of the carnivalesque, Rock That Look is unbashfully loud and proud to be different. Founded by Natalya A.K.A DjTaliak, Rock That Look was inspired by Natalya's role as a DJ and she fell in love with the fashion scene as a result. Natalya knew that the juxtaposition between glamour and clubwear was a hard concept to master but she was willing to give it a go and thus Rock That Look was born. Through mirrored lens Natalya distorted reality to break all boundaries and to leave behind inhibitions.

What drew me to the ethos of the brand is how it directly corresponded with mine; a fighter willing to challenge convention to shape a better future. We both want to change the life of others but are met with adversity every step of the way. Each footstep I take forward leads to a stumble into the past, bitter thoughts, knife-sharp words. This is where I discovered mirrors... if we can blur the boundaries between reality and fantasy in concept form then what is stopping us achieving it in real life? I learnt late that what a mirror shows you is not an accurate representation of yourself. My mirror only highlights my flaws and hides all the good traits that I love about myself. Where are my kind eyes, my empathetic heart and my desire to help others? It is the same with clothing, a dress on the hanger might be aesthetically unappealing but on the wearer it becomes them and forms a part of their identity. We all see something different in our mirrored lens and Rock That Look sees real women who deserve the attention that they deserve.

As an admirer of a brand that sees women as a canvas to shape the future, I wanted to become their canvas and see how their ideas were translated onto me. For our collaboration I chose a turquoise beaded necklace that I had an unspeakable affinity with. To me turquoise is a rarity, an anonmoly in a sea of beige, taupe and white. Like turquoise I am a rarity, a fashion blogger misunderstood by the general public. I am different, unafraid to speak my mind, willing to break my back in order to help others. They say that fashion is a superficial industry characterized by material ambition I disagree. I use fashion to highlight real issues, inspired by my own experiences in society

The intricate jewel beading represents societies lust for wealth, governed by competitive greed to make the most financial income. Like the jewel in a crown we seek the unattainable, more friends, more oppurtunities, more stability. In excessive greed we find our downfall, engulfing us in a sea of poison money. As a child I was not poor but I had no money to my name and learnt never to depend on others to survive. In a game of survival of the fittest we must wade out of the poison sea and into the safety of the tranquil blue waters, where the poisonous whispers cease to exist.

It is safe to say that I wax lyrical, the music of poetry and prose is in my blood humming a soft shanty tune as the world goes by. My attraction to the music of the written word is unpalpable and matched only to my adoration of fashion a medium through which I can be the real me. I am past the point of caring what people think of me and this necklace allowed me to channel my fierce energy into an accessible outlet through which I could communicate without words.

For those of you who have read my other blog posts you will know some experiences that I had as a child that made me become the woman that I am now. I stand before you today still flawed but learning to step away from the self-loathing and to re-adjust my mirrored lens to reflect the real me. I ask you as my readers to describe me, when you look at me what do you see? Do you see a vunerable girl, scarred and broken, bent into submission by societies villians or do you see a fighter who rejects homogeniety, rejects hatred and is self-assured in her ability to change the world? I am neither brave nor a coward- I am me.

I am the girl who set my past up in flames, the flames of the erased memories schorching my lips, I am the girl who sees fashion as an escape from reality, who draws positive energy from the colour blue. Electric or teal blue comforts me and shows me how to stand apart from the crowd. Like the turquiose marble overlay I am not a perfect fit nor am I a conventional beauty. This necklace represents my flaws: the jagged pieces show my crooked smile, the beading my impossible desire to be successful at all times and the gold my forgotten dream.

In dreams we see mirrors, alternative realities where you can go against the grain. In my alternative reality I am a rebel born to break rules, a black heart my muse. I chose to use black as my canvas to rebel against my own sense of style. It is good to challenge your own boundaries and create a path that can take you in a new direction. Through the darkness we can encounter the light and it is in the light that colour is born.

For this look I created two personas: the antidisestablishatarian and the environmentalist. The rebel is shown through black whereas the environmentalist is linked to blue and green. Synonomous with an iconic image of the natural world, the green and blue tones in the outfit are linked to my idea of a perfect paradise marred only by the darkness threatening to overcome me. The necklace is a tropical haven, an imperfect object in a perfect fantasy. In contrast the black is cold, a bitter side of me that cannot accept the rose tinted version of reality. I am not pessimistic but a realist. I worry too much to enjoy the now when the future is just around the corner, I am positive but aware that I am just another puppet in societies game to survive. Like a stepping stone I am trampled on, just another object to be used and abused.

Rock That Look understands what it is like to be an underdog and has shown that if you have the fire to compete in the survival of the fittest you will make it out alive. Those scars that you bear are your battle wounds, a reminder of ther bravery that it took to get this far. Like the necklace I am imperfect but perfect I am whatever you imagine me to be. In the grand scheme of things we are nothing, a mere speck on the face of a faceless earth. Strive to to win back your identity and be unique because that is what will get you noticed.

Much Love Springbots xox

Photography- Jumanna Khanom

Necklace- Rock That Look

Jacket- H&M ( Old season)

Top- Miss Selfridge (Old Season)

Skirt- Miss Selfridge (Sold Out)

Shoes-H&M (Sold out online but available in store)

Sunglasses- Asos (on sale)

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page