top of page

FOLLOW ME:

My Year In Review

Life Is Not Fair If You Are A Grown Up

'Smiling faces pressed against steaming windows,

Gurgling children in a euphoric trance,

Children playing, adults crying,

Life is not fair when you are a grown up,

Endless payments on empty stomachs,

Starving families lost in a hunger induced bubble,

Children squealing, adults groaning,

Life is not fair when you are a grown up'

It has been an amazing five months and I cannot thank my loyal 'Lil Springbots' enough. Thank you for supporting me through this incredible journey and showing me the best version of myself that I could be. It took me many years to become a blogger but I have been following blogs since I was sixteen, admiring their unique interpretation of personal style. When I graduated from university at the end of July starting a blog seemed a fitting end to a whirlwind three years and for the first time I had the chance to follow my teenage dreams. At first blogging was a hobby as I was juggling jobs on the side and it was not until August/ September that I truly fell in love with blogging. By then I had fallen head over heels and began to do exstensive research and carve out a niche that would make me stand out from other fashion bloggers. I was a writer and a poet by nature but most of all I was honest and that honesty led me to telling my followers what I had been through to make it to where I am today and it felt good. Opening up and trusting strangers felt more natural than telling my friends and the response was overwhelmingly positive. Worldwide I had readers message me to tell me how brave I had been to open up and how my courage had influenced them to share their own experiences with abuse and bullying.

As a social advocate for justice I also opened a series of taboo debates on Faded Spring to challenge and question my readers. The results were surprising but intellectually stimulating and I enjoyed reading each comment that was posted during this period. Most notably 'Body Image In The Catwalk Industry' led many readers to come forward who were or are models and they courageously shared what it was like to work in an industry that condemns you for being a certain size. As someone who was bullied for being too slim it hit home and I empathised with their frustration at being labelled too slim or too big in a world that exists on labels.

A photo from my post Body Image In The Catwalk Industry- I was always teased for being too slim

I also received wonderful support and gifts from brands including: Mink and Stone, Stylestorm, House of Fraser, Luxemme, Pro-Activ, Triangl, Lily Lulu, Ellie Montague, Plum of London, Blenheim Watches, Amonaie. Designs and many more who believed I had what it took to showcase their brand. I am truly grateful that they have supported me throughout my journey and want to give a massive shout out to Scoop Tub, GTA Life, Lily Lulu, Ego Official, Ex High Street, Fashion and Style Police, Mama In Heels, Charmeuse Couture, Agnesignacz, EO Photographer, Fashion Bloc, Landofthego, The White Pepper, Mocha Break and Kyou2191for featuring me on your social media accounts/and/or blogs.

During my five months as a blogger I have increased my social outreach by 300% and am now at 1.4 K followers on Instagram and 1.3 K on Facebook which I have had for four and five months respectively. The key to unlocking a higher follower account and more engagement led to hours of research and practical use to discover how an organic follower increase could be achieved quite easily (if you are prepared to work hard and dedicate a lot of time to social media). Find out more here

My favourite social platform is of course Instagram which I have curated - in the words of a reader- a visual feast for the senses underpinned by thought provoking poems that wax lyrical'. Finding a niche on Instagram took time but it is now dedicated to Street Art and Nature which both hold true to my personal style. Style to me is about embracing colour and using it to inject emotion into your life.

Blog Awards

Most Viewed Post Top 3

My most viewed, most shared post and seventh most commented on 'How To Get More Followers On Instagram' is a good example of evergreen content and continues to generate traffic today.

About my experiences with bullying I share how I overcame my past and used it to shape a brighter future. Even until recently I was being manipulated and used by so-called friends. We must get rid of toxic energy and surround ourselves with positive forces.

About my love of writing, I share how in the face of oppression writing became my shield, allowing me to grow stronger as a person. So many of us take writing for granted but there are civilizations who prohibit freedom of speech.

A still from The Midnight Hour

Most Comments

With 235 comments The Colour Wheel is Faded Spring's most commented on post and still ranks in the top five most viewed post since my time as a blogger. One of my more emotive posts, it acknowledges my painful past and how I have used it to become a better person.One of my earliest posts I cringe at the photos but the content still moves me and allows me to go back into the past to explore who I was five months ago.

Favourite Blog Post As Voted For By The Public

You Are What You Buy: Consumerism

Published this month, it resonated with many readers who felt we were becoming enslaved to a materialistic existience when we should be focused on what really matters; family, love and community. It seems ironic that I a 'Fashion blogger' should highlight the need to step away from a consumerist lifestyle but it is an ethos that I feel deeply about. For centuries we could not afford luxury goods but by the 18th century the introduction of a capitalist society made us more aware of our self-worth.

Your Favourite Blog Post Still

Favourite Instagram Post As Voted For By The Public

Published a week ago it has racked up 301 likes and although it is not in the top 5 most liked photos you praised its colour-co-ordination and seamless connection with the art behind it. My favourite comment was from a user who said it made them smile because it was so happy and cheerful!

Most Liked Instagram Post

In first place is this colourful post which you readers have been loving this year. Quite a commendable feat since the second most liked photo was victorious until last week when it slipped into second position.

Top 5 Instagram Photos (2-5)

2. After eight weeks at number one and the quickest photo to reach 300 likes (23 hours) its victory lap has come to a halt and it has slipped into second place with 376 likes.

3. Last months most liked Instagram post, this is the photo that begun my true love affair with street art. Designed by Otto Schade each painting is a political statement against conformity and rejects the fantasy fairy tale ending employed by many mediums to tell a story.

4. This months most popular Instagram photo is at number four and has an impressive 352 likes and 80 comments. The simplicity of the shot is ingenious and the dark poem reflects the sombre background.

5. Just four likes behind this photo as shown below has broken the record for the most comments.

Most Commented on Instagram Post

In a space of three days this post got 89 comments and now stands at 91 comments the most commented post in Faded Spring history. In light of its magnificient achievement here is the photo in its full glory.

Most Liked Facebook Post *incidently the same photo used for the most commented IG post

With 161 likes this Facebook post is the most liked post in Faded Spring's Facebook page history and referred to how society distorts the image of beauty to make us feel as though our flaws are not beautiful when in reality without flaws there would be no beauty. There is beauty in imperfection and never let anyone tell you any different.

Most Viewed Month

Faded Spring's most viewed month was November, with 'How To Get The Most Followers On Instagram' taking the top spot for most viewed post in Faded Spring history. Posts you were loving in November include 'The Midnight Hour' , 'Redefining Feminism' 'Fly Me To Jupiter' , 'Fashion Bloc' and 'Is Instagram a Threat to Personal Style Blogs?' which make up the top 5 most viewed posts in November.

My two favourite blog photos from November

Each day I thank my lucky stars that I took the plunge to enter the blogging sphere and am looking forward to seeing what 2016 brings Faded Spring in its Wheel Of Fortune. Thank you all for being such loyal readers and I will see you on the other side.

What have you been loving on Faded Spring this year? Have your say in the comment box below.

*Please note this post was written a week before its publishing date and as a consequence some of the figures are now wrong. For example my most liked Instagram post is now on 381 likes and the order of most liked photos now stands at number 1, number 2, number 4, number 3, number 5.

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page