top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Why I Became A Social Justice Advocate

I have made no bones about the fact that I have been through testing hardships that have affected me both mentally and physically and that is partly why I represent minority voices who have been supressed by their national state system or even their peers. I want to be the voice of our next generation that inspires people to speak up and share their life experiences without fear of judgement because in my world freedom of speech is neccessary. There are economies who are stratified through rigid dictatorship whereby human rights are violated and the power of the government overshadowed the civilians cries for help. I want to change that. For those who don't know me or are new readers I was bullied and abused throughout most of my life which made me lose self-confidence, esteem and affected how I saw myself in the eyes of others. I was convinced that I was never good enough and worked continously to change the opinions of those who had judged a book before they had read its cover. Now I actively support several charities, support social and political issues affecting the wellbeing of my readers on this blog and campaign for human rights, banning fur ( You can read more about my views here) and my passionate support of the LGBTQ community. My point is human rights matter so what I can't understand is why we as a collective community do not go out of our way to support those who have been left without a voice.

I was once voiceless, a small speck in my mothers womb deprived of speech and free will. Yet even after leaving the womb there are many who remain voiceless and restricted by the limitations of their gender. As a feminist I joined several forums and communities to speak up for those who are oppressed by their biological labels sociologically given by the government as a form of blatant control. As women we are told that we must 'wear pink' conform to the 'Aryan Blonde' ideal and be interested in topics or behaviours that have so often been stereotyped as 'conventionally' feminine. Yet femininity is so much more complex than a set of society labelled behaviours and it is possible to 'like the colour blue' be into 'unisex fashion' and 'love football' whilst still being a female. And that applies to anyone, regardless of gender, class, race, sexual, aesthetic or ethnic differences we are still entitled to having our own voice and noone not even government propoganda can take that away from us.

My heart is filled with sorrow everytime a human is gunned down for holding opposing beliefs to the religion they are initiated into, my heart bleeds when women and men are not free to love and are forced into arranged marriages, a tear escapes my eye everytime an innocent young child lies among the dead civilians, killed prematurely because he was forced into becoming a soldier and I bawl when hearing about those who have taken their own lives because they are not free to be themselves. Every day millions of men, women and children are stripped of their basic human rights for the sake of preserving the 'face' of the government. This is wrong , no matter your upbringing and cultural beliefs respecting our peers and enabling them to speak freely is to me the most important thing that we as a human race share.

I am proud to call myself a social justice advocate because I know that I am helping to create a brighter future for our children, whose path to success will not be defined by war and bloodshed but by understanding and compassion for the community they call home. So will you join me in the fight against social inequality and fight for the rights of those who are oppressed by cultural assimilation, religious regimentation and other institutions who have force fed civillians into believing that they are entitled to go back to that moment in the womb with no voice and rights to stand up for themselves and object against institutional injustice? Because even in the mothers womb we are not deprived of one right and that is comfort and some communities no longer foster a sense of security to the civilians depending on the government to survive.

What are your thoughts? Are You a Social Justice Advocate?

Photography- Jumanna Khanom

Faux Fur Jacket - Missy Empire

Co-Ord- Missguided

Necklace- Custom Made KLG

Watch- Elie Beaumont

Heels- Missguided

Comentários


  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page