top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Irresistible Me: Review

There is one thing you should know about me, I have never shown my true hair on my blog because it is thick, messy and a pain to manage. Sitting between curly and wavy my hair lacks volume and is often coated in frizz and tangles, taking me at least 20 minutes just to brush my lions mane. It is frustrating to deal with and all my life I have dreamed of having sleek straight hair with no frizz to its name. That is why in all my blog photos you can see that my hair is straight, smooth and shiny because it takes me at least two hours to get it straight and even then it fails to stay straight especially in light of our temperamental English weather. It was not until I was at university that I would start straightening my hair more often as it gave me a confidence boost and made me look older than I did with curly hair. I was often teased for having such thick unmanageable hair as a child and I grew up conflicted about the way my hair looked. It seems stupid I know but hair is such an integral part of your human identity that without you are someone else. Which is why when Irresistible Me contacted me asking to review their Diamond hair straighteners I leapt at the chance as I have heard great reviews about their products and my hair straighteners is poor quality and ill-suited to my hair type.

In a show stopping hue of sultry scarlet red, the Irresistible Me Diamond styling Iron uses Diamond Hi- Tech which coats the ceramic plates with crushed diamond particles mixed with tourmaline, a unique feature of the brand which I have not seen elsewhere. At 149$ (£103.87) the styling iron is not cheap but its diamond and tourmaline technology protects your hair from the elements and keeps all your natural hair oils, colour and moisture in which is a benefit for me as when I straighten my hair it often becomes 'dry', 'brittle' and lacks definition. Because my hair type is oily but dry the combination leaves hair styling tools that cater to both very difficult to find but Irresistible me did the trick. It not only managed to keep my hair straighter for longer but it also protected my hair from air humidity and when exposed to wind and rain during the shoot the level of frizz as opposed to my old pair of straighteners was minimal making it one of the best blogger perks I have ever received. Of course all items are not 100 % suitable to each person so my experience might be different to yours but so far it has exceeded all expectations of the brand.

Before it would take me 2 hours to straighten my hair and even after 2 hours there would still be kinks in places I could not reach and a large level of frizz but with the Diamond styling iron I was blown away by how smooth and manageable my hair felt. My hair felt like silk and it was a pleasure to not hate my hair for once. I do want to get better at embracing my natural hair and showcasing it on the blog (don't you worry a spa trip is coming up soon so prepare to see it in all its frizzy glory) because I only straighten my hair once a week sometimes 2/3 but it is nice to know I can feel like Rapunzel with my sleek straight hair. I have always loved long hair and up until I was about 14/15 I had no control over my hair and was often forced to have short hair which I hated because I felt raw and unfeminine without it. I think that other people can pull it off a lot better than I can but at the time I was teased a lot which is why I have kept my hair long ever since.

Having long hair is hard to control but the Diamond hair straighteners were designed for user comfort with a long, 360° mobile cord that swivels around following your every move so that it won’t get tangled using it. Its light and simple design is enhanced by a thumb print for a steady grip just below the green LED digital display which helps you to avoid burning your thumb when straightening your hair. I am so glad that I finally have a pair of hair straighteners that I do not burn myself on as I am very clumsy and the Diamond hair straighteners only take 15 seconds to reach 230 C/ 450 F. The thumb print feature is wonderful because it allows you to use the irons without being too aware of the temperature which is an added bonus for me. What's more I am always travelling so the straighteners as shown below can be straightened on the go and to test this theory I brought an eco- travel adapter on Ebay for 7 pounds. I walked the streets of Shoreditch straightening my hair on the go and believe me when I was surprised to see such sleek Hollywood hair staring back at me. This by far is one of the best features for me because it means that I can straighten my hair on the go and be safe in the knowledge that I can be frizz free in a matter of minutes

I was also curious as to how the plates (which at first I thought would not be suited to my hair type) was so apt at controlling thick hair and then I realized it is because of its 1'' floating plate which self-adjusts eliminating any pressure points, so that the flat iron can work through your hair smoothly, without pulling any loose ends. As my hair gets so knotty quickly the floating plates counteracts my natural hair and forces it to be behave, leaving me to win the battle against my lions mane. But the Diamond styling hair iron is not just your average hair tool and reportedly it is the best for curling your hair too (review coming soon) making it a double threat. In fact I would even go as far to say that it is better than GHD's and is seriously underrated in my opinion. GHD's have left my hair feeling damaged and in need of a nourishing hair mask but the Diamond styling iron has a style guide fact sheet that specifically tells you what heat rating to use which I have attached HERE. For hair like mine that it is thick and coarse it is recommended to use it between 350-450 degrees which worked a treat on my hair.

As someone who is also conscious of my impact upon the environment I have been recently looking for products that are eco-friendly and the Diamond Styling iron is environmentally sustainable with a mission to protect the environment. I can honestly say it is the first pair of hair straighteners that I have come across who make a conscious effort to be eco-friendly and be aware of the impact of using electrical Nano technology on the environment. So how does it work? Well every time you run the plates through your hair the temperature drops by 40 degrees reducing the time needed to return to optimal temperature to almost zero. Not only does the smart Nano technology maintain a constant temperature to enhance your styling experience but it also means that the duration of the styling irons being on is cut to be environmentally viable.

Rating

Design 4/5

Accuracy 4.5/5

Shipping & Handling 5/5

Use of Technology 4.5/5

Packaging 4/5

Overall rating: 22/25

Would I Buy It?

If I was not gifted the Diamond Styling Iron I would 100% buy it without a shadow of a doubt because it is the first styling tool that actually manages to tame my thick coarse hair without damaging or pulling it and de-frizzes my hair to perfection. After a few hours in the wind and rain [as you can see above] my hair did curl at the ends but my hair was frizz free and still smooth. I highly recommend purchasing a Diamond styling iron today!

Would you purchase a Diamond Styling Iron?

Photography: Jumanna Khanom

Demin Dungarees- New Look

Waistcoat-B You Boutique

Boots- Primark

Turtleneck- Miss Selfridge

Bag- Lollipop

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page