top of page

FOLLOW ME:

May Recap

The last three months seem to be echoing each other because I seem to say the same thing every month and that is 'I am exhausted' and unable to post as much as I would like to. My followers will note that since March/April I have been able to post consistently which has largely affected my following and traffic and there is nothing I can do about it. I work so hard to earn a living and because I can't make enough money on my blog I am forced to work multiple jobs to generate some form of income. Alongside my role as a blogger I am a social media executive, copywriter, freelance journalist and an advertiser/promoter for various brands; I often work 12 -14 hour days before heading to either an event or coming home and catching up with emails, blog threads, writing new posts and editing photos. Even on rest days where I am not 'working' in my other jobs I am working behind the scenes on my blog and running three social media and blog promotion groups. It is difficult to manage but this week I found a happy medium, this month my photographer has been off leaving some Sunday's free which I use to catch up on blogging and will then publish a post that I normally publish Monday Sunday around 9.30 PM and vice versa every night. This week I posted only twice because of my hectic work schedule and starting work at 5 AM and not getting home until midnight sometimes later means I am too tired to complete that days threads. I am completely exhausted but I do not know what else to do because I have to work long hours to make a living but it is definitely affecting my passion for blogging.

I know that next month is going to be just as bad if not worse but I am hoping that I can figure out a way around it. In more positive news this month I managed to win two awards for my blog; Debenham's 'Best British Blogger' and UK Bloggers BOTM ( Blogger of The Month), so thank you to everyone who voted for me and thank you to UK Blog Awards for introducing Debenhams to my blog. It is a great honour and I am so pleased that I won alongside MR Luke Christian!

So lo and behold let the blogging summary commence...

Yes I wear dresses, yes I wear jewels but would I wear statement necklaces every day? The answer is an unresounding no, I want a necklace that completes me and sets me free. I see the same statement necklaces, the same pearl chokers on the necks of every woman going but I want something bespoke that captures who I am. And who am I? I am Faded Spring, I am not Ana De-Jesus but I am this blog, I live breathe and taste Faded Spring. I am the change of the seasons and the first touch of sleet on frosted lips, I am me Faded Spring. Faded Spring was a blogger first and now she is a designer; necklaces can make or break a persons identity and for me my bespoke necklace's calligraphic 'slogan' aesthetic is who I am. Why do you think that I use flowery calligraphy on my blog? I use it as a tribute to my favourite historical eras [Medieval and Tudor] and because like street art, calligraphy is an art form. There is no right or wrong in art and White Daisies necklaces are 'art' pure and simple. Using an Ultimaker printer bespoke creations should be a critical part of any jeweler's process because to me personalized gifts are far more beautiful than mass produced, commercialized jewels. And why are White Daisies 3D Jewellery so beautiful? Because they 'dare to be different'.

The past made me a warrior and I use my pen as a weapon against my haters. I write because it gives me a reason to get up in the morning , I live and breathe words and the faint ink smell pervading the air as I scribble furiously on notepads gives me the satisfaction that only writers know and love. Without writing I don't think it would be an exaggeration to say I would not be here because it is true. My love of reading and writing combined allowed me to escape the demons of my tormented past and forge a new future where I would win accolades for my works. Winning 'Best British Blogger' alongside Luke Christian was a dream come true and living proof that I shouldn't stop writing, even when the haters burst into my 'safe space' with guns a'blazing. I will never let them win and as much as they would love to see me fail that it is never going to happen. I waded through the depths of hell to get to where I am now and it only proves how far I have come since my 'dark days' because all dreams can come true. I am living proof that dreams can become your reality and noone even your harshest critics can take away your crowning glory from you.

Comments: 137

Taking over Dalston hotspot ' The Hive', the inaugural B.A.B.E.S showcase showed promise and flare from the moment we stepped into the 'snake den'. A python lay draped over a vintage bridal model who lay poised with 'refined elegance' and a sophistication beyond her years, uttering no sound as the large snake writhed across her neck. A group of bloggers and journalists stood in anxious anticipation watching the living art transfer onto camera and the photographic consequence was exceptional; the clash between the reptilian's hooded eyelids and the demure human lid that fluttered in the style of a 50's starlet was eerie if not eerily beautiful. Each of us bystanding spectators was given a chance to stroke or hold the snake but I could only manage a quick stroke and its skin was surprisingly cool to the touch. The merger between the vintage bride and her reptilian counterpart was effortless and brought a unique, finessed energy to the B.A.B.E.S production.

Comments: 57

I had tried so many remedies that I was left feeling more exhausted than ever but there was a solution I had never contemplated before and that was tea. I love both herbal and black tea (decaf, two sugars and very milky) but the short bursts of energy leave me feeling deflated after the 'sugar slump' reaction. Meet Teami Blends, the innovator of loose leaf teas specially designed to target issues like insomnia, muscle pain, sickness, brain fog and those who crave a healthier lifestyle. Their teas have amassed a cult following and it is easy to see why. Rich in antioxidants and infused with multi-vitamins each tea's unique blend of ingredients will be targeted towards a specific 'problem issue'. At first I was a little skeptical believing that 'help teas' were purely to lose weight and naturally I want to put on not lose weight because I am naturally petite. I was assured that Teami Energy, Teami Alive and Teami Sleep did not make you lose weight but instead rid your body of toxins, helped re-energize and revitalize your digestive system and give you the energy you need to get through your day. It was a toss up between Teami Alive and Teami Energy but eventually I chose Teami Energy.

Comments: 68

Proud to represent female figures as a point of inspiration, Kaytie Wu's Rose Gold Line Crystal Necklace and Rose Gold Line Crystal Bracelet fuse the independence of 'Amphitrite' with the wisdom of the Neolithic 'Earth Mother', whose two 'fierce energies' meld to create the driving force behind the Geo Collection. Both bracelet and necklace use a 'horizontal crystal line' which symbolizes 'life on earth as a binary' chronological process beginning in 'birth' and ending in 'death. The cyclical motions that we go through in life inspired Kaytie to use stretched out horizontal axis's to examine the dual nature of female existence and how females connection to natural elements could be used to 'inform' and 'mould' the Geo series. The bracelet uses two horizontal parallel lines creating a rectangular construction which develops into a perfect 'circle' linking the bracelet to horizontal lines. While the horiztontal axis's are connected to the Neolithic Earth Mother and her symbol as 'life on earth' the use of a circle is a theological symbol of 'boundary' and 'enclosure' which 'completes' the 'returning' cycle of regeneration and rebirth.

Comments: 111

The concept of creating an ecological balance in the clothing industry is almost as impossible as ensuring you live a 'cruelty free' lifestyle. Even if you are a vegetarian, vegan or the worlds greatest eco-warrior an aerosol, creating gas or simply travelling on the bus all contribute to unsustainable living and it is time that we acknowledge that. While you might not be able to determine your clothing is sustainable I do urge you to ( like me) question the policies, ethics and myths surrounding fast fashion and be aware that you might be unconsciously contributing to the exploitation of workers. So how do I feel about this? It makes me uneasy that I wear clothing that might or might not affect workers qualities of lives but I will not boycott a retailer even as 'mass-produced' as New Chic because at the end of the day boycotting does not solve problems it creates issues. In other words if I was to refuse to wear New Chic's clothing I might be affecting a workers salary, meaning that they no longer have enough food to eat or can barely break even with their rent. It is a highly contentious and vicious circle of life and sometimes we have to accept that in order for life to have balance there must be an equal divide between the positive and negative, even in the fashion industry.

Comments:112

Once upon a time there lived a lonely pair of sunglasses, huddled on the corner of civilization in wait for a new life, where money was no object and it could live the rest of its days in peace. But alas no brand came to its rescue and in a land where designer sunglasses ruled the roost, the lonely pair of sunglasses thought its life was over. That is until now; meet the eyewear brand taking social media by storm – Cheapass Sunglasses- whose mission is to inject fun, budget friendly sunglasses into beachgoers lives and prove that ‘budget’ does not mean ‘poor quality’. No matter your budget the sun loving Cheapass Sunglasses will find a pair or four to suit you. Cheap as ‘chips’ the brand spends its days lounging by pools and drinking in the sweet scent of success, as the sun dips enticingly in and out of the pool of sunglasses. Be bold and choose a flamboyant pair of orange vintage cat eye sunglasses or go sporty with tinted aviator specs, as no matter the preference there is over 150 sunglasses to choose from. As the sun drenched skies close to a halt the sunglasses party after dark, most commonly found in Ibiza beside the resident DJ’s making their way downtown.

Comments: 84

The effortless blend of pop, rnb, indie, new age and dance/trance stages is part of Glastonbury's allure; there really is something for everyone, even jaded music critics who I noted actually 'smiled' and looked like they were 'having a good time'. So despite Micheal's death the mood remained electric, especially in 'Trash City' [the] apocalyptic dream sequence of surrealism and Dance Village whose aura of positivity [through the medium of dance] was infectious in itself. The smaller stages tucked away at the fringe of the festival provided light relief while the 'chill out' vibe of the Other Stage allowed us to be mellow and rest up for the chaotic sets that followed on the Pyramid stage. Of course the Glastonbury Festival would not be the same without its incredible sound systems; with total power of 650,000 watts and the Pyramid Stage having 250 speakers alone, the bass boosted production of artists sets was made possible by Advanced Diesel Generators.

Comments: 80

I went on an online date once, egged on by university friends who told me I had been 'single' far too long and that I needed a man to make me happy. They thought that the promise of a new man would help me forget the mistakes of my past and move on to a 'brighter' and more 'promising future' but boy were they wrong. I had no expectations of the date except for the idea that I might meet someone I really liked or if romance was 'dead' then at least there would be a new friendship to consider right? As far as dates go I was more of a relationship type 'gal' and the concept of being taken on dates was relatively new since I was rarely taken on dates during my relationships. I was excited and pulled out all the stops to impress the guy I would be meeting; he was attractive, my type and we had excellent technological conversation. I started to think that this could be the start of something new yet it turned into the worst date I had ever had.

Comments: 106

It was a fresh spring morning, the birds were chirping merrily and a glimpse of the naked early sun bathed me with subtle warmth. It was the perfect setup for what I hoped would be a stress-free day full of tranquility and the birds cheered harder as I made my way to Spa London. After an hour and a half skipping from train[s] to bus my journey was finally complete and I stepped into a world where Wifi was non-existent and social media was a distant murmur, buried outside. It was time to throw off the shackles of my digital media obsession and be welcomed into the open arms of peace.After completing a form stating allergies, medication and giving emergency contact details I was whisked away into the breakfast room abundant with succulent, flaky pastries, juicy fruit and welcome drinks of champer and orange glistening in buckets of ice. It was like a feast for the gods, almond, custard and raisin plaits draped over crispy pain au chocolat’s while croissant mounds commanded the rear, moist and buttery layers of pastry begging to be devoured in one whole bite. Grapes and apples were like water in a desert, juicy green fruit oozing with fresh juice but the bananas had the upper hand, large and ripe they stood center stage, bursting with promise. The champagne and orange were like beacons of hope, parching our thirsty lips with one sweet fizzy kiss but the biting cold that was sure to invade led the selection of teas to bustle forward. Chamomile, rooibos, peppermint and matcha green tea provided warmth and comfort and made us feel right at home.

Comments: 62

Home to over 600 unique bag designers House of Fraser carefully treads the line between a homage to 'traditional luxury' and 'high street brights'. Infusing its know how approach to curating designer collections and its surprise cult high street buys why shop bags anywhere else? With prices starting from as little as £9.50 and reaching a premium price of £950 on handbags, totes and pouchettes House of Fraser has a bag for any occasion or budget. Whether you are looking for bold arm candy that creates splashes of colour to brighten up rainy days or are after a minimalist clutch to offset your evening gown let Faded Spring and House of Fraser take you into the magical universe of Spring/Summer 2016 bags. Last week I chose an Ice Blue Accessorize Tote which is suitable for housing your laptop, storing junk and a general all rounder handbag that can accommodate to your every needs. While it is important to choose a handbag for everyday use no one wants to lug a huge handbag to the club so what better than Dorothy Perkins Suedette Clutch in Duck Egg Blue?

Comments: 72

April has been full of ups and downs, from winning 'Best British Blogger' to running out of money it has been a whirlwind of a month. But I know that one thing is for certain, despite all my trials and tribulations the hard work is starting to pay off and I am reaping the awards. It has made me feel so proud that I can stand here and show how far I have come in eight months; I have proved everyone of you haters wrong and like it or lump it I am going places. This month I have worked with prestigious brands including House of Fraser and Chi Chi London, attended award ceremonies and become brand ambassadors for a series of brands including Graze. One thing is for certain I could focus on the negatives but the fact is that despite the obstacles I faced this month I feel stronger than ever.

Comments: 92

May 2nd Becoming A Full Time Blogger

Being a blogger has expenses of its own and although I earn a little money from part-time gigs and sponsored posts it is still not enough for me to rely on blogging alone and I want to change that. I want to wake up every morning and not worry when my next pay cheque is coming in and I want to live in the moment where I blog and do nothing else. I work hard for my money but it is still not enough and I know that realistically I cannot support myself on blogging alone. I work various jobs on the side centered around digital media, social media management and up until recently was tutoring and nannying children to fund my travel and lifestyle costs. Suddenly that money has stopped and whilst it scares me that I have so little in the bank account I know that all my trials and tribulations will reward me in the future.Networking and meeting other entrepreneurs has become an important part of my social diary and I attend as many events as I can to be able to better myself as a blogger and a journalist and be able to take the plunge into full time blogging. Essentially the hours I put into crafting my blog content, creating visuals and planning posts has the markings of a full time job without the payment and in a sense it is liberating. I may have little funds to my name but I am doing the job that I love (with extras) and that is more than most people can say. How many of you were stuck in jobs that you hated before you became bloggers and realized what your true destinies were?

Comments: 92

Top 5 Posts

1. Winning Best British Blogger With Debenhams

2. The Myth Behind Cheap Retailers

3. Dreaming In Pink With Kaytie Wu

4. Would You Date Offline

5. Becoming A Full Time Blogger

Top 5 Instagram Posts

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

What Was Your Favorite Post This Month?

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page