top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Dive Into Diwah

Its a sweltering hot summers day, waves lapping around my ankles like a snake on heat, the blaring rays causing sweat to build on my crinkled forehead. The birds chirp forlornly, craving the kind of shade they can bask in, away from the harsh sunlight that sets them alight. The drinks come swiftly, pina colada, mojito, cosmopolitan, a welcome peace offering from the fierce sun-soaked skies. The vivid blue waves behind me wrap me in a 'rose-tinted' film, pretending to shield me from the droves of rain clouds threatening to spill. In my fantasy I lie at peace in the sand, warm sea water tickling at my sand filled toes. The soft sand envelops me in a sensuous hug , battling the gentle sea waves for my undivided attention. I become a mermaid, long curled locks fanning out behind me, dressed in blue to enter the sea. The initiation ceremony is almost complete and the Mer-Queen steps forward, two gifts in her beautifully scaled hands. In order to dive into Diwah, she tells me, you must accept two gifts that will guarantee entry into the magical Diwah kingdom: Cascade and Cascade Mini Me. The magical princess pendant that you see before you and her sister pendant bracelet are layered with 70 spells that will protect you from the monstrous sea guardians , hell bent on erasing Diwah from the 'seas' memory. It is your duty to stand tall and triumphant, using your gifts to make Diwah the seas finest kingdom once again. With a scepter in one hand and the jewels in other I fling myself into the chaos of the open waters, battling the sea guardians that stand in my way. But the dream melts away and I am back in rainy England, re-living my Mediterranean fantasy once more.

Dive into 'Diwah' is inspired by my love of the 'sea', where we have the possibility to escape the mundane reality of our totalitarian universe and escape into the welcoming waters that are gifted by earth. The sea, the sand and the tropical breeze are what makes the seaside a welcome diversion and Diwah's kingdom is ready to be governed once more by I its 'Mer-Queen' and founder. Queue 'Diwah, the 'self-design' service dedicated to making our dreams come true, through a passionate and often vibrant explosion of colour, texture and shape. From spherical glass beads to Mer-approved teal perspex accent stops, when it comes to 'fantasy and play' Diwah knows no limits. As someone who lives 50% of her time in a world that exists 'only in my head' Diwah gave me the key to their magic kingdom and it was a world beyond compare. Seahorses danced merrily, flutes squeaked and mermen awaited my accession to the throne, marveling at the riot of hot pink and teal that jangled daintily on my neck and wrist. Created using crystal, fashion elements and semi-precious howlite and jade, Cascade and Mini Me had the power to liberate and control and filled with heady excitement I set out to dive into Diwah. Designed by the Mer-Princess 'Laura', she cast aside my rose-gold, replacing it with a delicious assortment of costume, one of a kind pieces. It was a liberating and creative process and although the Mer-Princess gave me creative control, her ability to conjure a necklace set fit for 'governing the Mer Kingdom' was a delicious social revolution.

Cascade is the antithesis of 'Classical design'; no wilting wallflower, the fashion-led costume jewellery is loud and proud. Using hot pink diamonds, spherical jade and teadrop-shaped howlite, Diwah sought to revitalize the 'aging' costume aesthetic, replacing the somber vintage brooches with new shapes and dimensions, rooted in 'Cubist Culture'. A prosperous 1920's movement, Cubism sought to challenge conventional forms of representation, such as perspective and reflect the world through 'modern eyes'. Diving into 'Diwah' allowed me to envision how the distortion of 'art' as we knew it could be applied directly to 'ready to wear' statement pieces, using semi-precious stones that could transcend time and space. My transgression into Diwah's land [or rather 'sea'] of 'hope and glory' transpired within moments of receiving the gifts bestowed upon me by Laura and in my dream the 'marriage' of colour and shape meant that I could be part of the revolutionary Cubist art movement, even if the art was inspired by the 'dimensions of the sea'. In the teal of the carved spherical jade I saw the tranquility of the open waters, in the pink I saw buoyant inflatable flamingos, a welcome respite from the dive into the deep and in the clear I saw clarity, clarity that my 'dive into Diwah' had opened up a whole new world of possibility.

Want a slice of the Mermaid action? Then use my unique discount code FADEDSPRING30 to get an unlimited 30% ( Expires 1/05/2017) on each purchase. Feeling extra 'Mermaid-y? Then enter the competition below where you could win a £50 Diwah voucher and put your skills to the test by making your own necklace or bracelet. Click HERE to enter.

Do You See Art in Diwah's Jewellery?

Enter The Competition Above To Win Your Own Diwah Jewellery!

*PR Sample

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page