top of page

FOLLOW ME:

I Am Thankful

I am thankful that I am still here when many I care about are not, long dead and buried underground. I am thankful that my heart still beats, with gusto and vigor when many lay dying in painful agony,

I am thankful that I have remembered how to live, when many are trapped in the deep hollows of their mind, I am thankful that I have oxygen in my lungs and blood running through my veins, that my body won't give up on me-even when my mind has had enough, I am thankful that I can live out my dreams, when many have been stunted at every turn, I am thankful that I have freedom of speech, that my words are not solicited by oppressive censorship but instead are welcomed with hungry need,

I am thankful that I am a knowledge seeker, when many are ignorant to the pleas of its people,

I am thankful that I have noone to tell me what I can and can't do, I am no master's puppet for sure,

I am thankful that I can help others without taboo and violence, upset about those who languish out of my reach, I am thankful that we live in a democracy when many peoples words are dictated by the law.

I am thankful that I live in a progressive state and not in a war torn wasteland, the memory of the injured Syrian boy still fresh in my mind, I am thankful that I know the difference between right and wrong but crime still exists, its sad-I know. I am thankful that we have a judicial system to protect us, but there's a lot of work still to do- true. I am thankful that gay marriage has been legalized, that many other countries have followed our lead. I am thankful that our rainbow beauties can be who they are without retribution, I am thankful that their identities still remain true and pure. I am thankful that I hear the drum of multiculturalism, see the cultures assimilate as one. I am thankful that we know the beauty of being unique, that we welcome a beat that is different to our own. I am thankful that these musical sounds create equal harmony, the voices of a thousand people united once more. I am thankful that we all come together when tragedy strike, support our fellow neighbors, our children, our wives.

I am thankful that I have friends who are my backbone, who will be there for me no matter what, I am thankful that we humans know what it means to love. I am thankful that love is a secret we all share, from the very depths of our hearts, a real emotion we can all respond to. I am thankful that with love comes friendship, sometimes eternal, others are fleeting, I am thankful that we have minds that can capture memories, a snapshot in time stored away for future viewing. I am thankful that our minds produce colour, that in each colour is a memory worth remembering. I am thankful that I have access to clean water and food, when many do not know where their next meal is coming from, I am thankful that though I am sick I can see a doctor without questioning who I am. I am thankful that our doctors and nurses sacrifice their time to save us, dedicate their lives selflessly and without haste. I am thankful that in a world of greed lies people with their arms wide open, you will be surprised- its the people without money who are the most welcoming- I am thankful that there are people who do good deeds without expecting anything in return, the heroes who save others from the very throes of 'hell'. I am thankful that those who sacrificed are remembered for their time, gone but never forgotten and always in our hearts. I am thankful that we still live, hearts ticking 1,2,3.

What Are You Thankful For?

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page