top of page

FOLLOW ME:

The Art Of Communication: Huggle

'She sits alone and afraid, aware that the people who surround her are just strangers,

They make no effort to conversate with her and she is left isolated and confused,

It used to be so easy to make friends, school kids stuck together, adults forget,

We move away and lose contact, ghost the friends we no longer want to know,

We sink them into the hollows of our mind, they move down the list as new friends emerge,

In the crevices of human need lies a dormant need to be social but do we choose the wrong people?

That friend who held your hand when you were sick, that friend who shielded you from bullies-gone

As we age people die and disappear, your best friend of twenty years-gone,

We leave life knowing who we have loved and lost, we are dead inside,

Numbed by the blur of technology we cease to talk, how easy it is to forget the ones you love,

Caught in our bubbles of time we no longer communicate, swipe left or right your gone,

Whatever happened to the premise of friendship? Holding hands and making memories?

Where did time go, what happened to us we used to be friends?'

In an age where technology reigns supreme we have become desensitized to 'real life' using apps to control every sector or lives, numb to the premise of a 'real world'. We use Tinder to Date, Instagram to filter and manipulate the way we look so we fit modern beauty standards and use Facebook to chat. Over time our friends come second to technology, friends that exist in cyberspace but no longer a friend you could call when you are in desperate need of help. I have many friends, both cyber and real but just how many of those friends are there for me when I need them most? When I am drowning under the weight of all my problems, who will be there to drag me up to the surface? To remind me that everything is going to be ok? Very few, in fact I can count them all on one hand and it makes me sad. When did I grow up and realize that very few of us know the art of communication? When did it occur to me that we have forgotten what it means to be a friend, too caught up in the heady magic of technology to notice the people we should be focusing on? I must admit I am guilty of ghosting 'friends' and have at times not made time for the people I love because I am too caught up with media. When the nature of your work is centered around digital media -like myself- it can be difficult to pull away and remember that the real world still exists, which is why I have partnered with Huggle, to teach fellow bloggers and readers the 'art of conversation' once more.

Now hear me out; yes Huggle is an app, yes Huggle is a technological product and yes I have just spoken about how technology has made us forget the 'art of communication' but (and its a big but) Huggle is different. Huggle wants us to connect with people who share similar interests as ourselves and remember what it feels like to laugh again. Kind of like a 'friendship' based Tinder I hear you ask? Well that is where you are wrong; I must admit I was skeptical as to how an app that matched you to 'new friends' in your area could ever be safe and trust me I have heard enough horror stories about Tinder to be scarred for life. Thing is, you should never judge a book by its cover, I found through the matched via places in common’ function three people who also loved 'eating Thai food' and it was a great opportunity to meet and get to know people with similar interests. It can be nerve wracking and considering I had not met them through social media per say or knew them in person it was a challenge but a refreshing challenge at that. We met up over a love of fine food and vinho, discussing the many intricacies of Thai cuisine and it was a fascinating social experiment. I have always been comfortable socializing on a one to one basis but any more than that and it can become a little claustrophobic or someone always ends up being left out. That being said the notion that 'three is a crowd' sure didn't apply on our little date.

Huggle made me realize that I was very used to sticking to my 'comfort zone' and in part I believe that the rise and proliferation of technology has made it easier for us to 'stick to what we know'. To many of us change is 'alien', 'unwanted' and 'uncomfortable' but after losing two people who I was close to I realized that change is not necessarily a bad thing. People die young and memories crumble with time but we can make the most of the little time that we do have by living in the moment and embracing the unexpected. When time is such a precious commodity we need to live each day like its our last and not moan about all the missed opportunities and the wasted chances that we had. Instead of moaning do something new, try Huggle and meet friends you never knew you needed in your life. Try wakeboarding or watch a horror movie and conquer your fear of blood. Whatever your poison do something new today. But whatever you do remember, life is better with conversation.

I learnt that moving away from home doesn't have to be scary; having moved six times in the last four years I believe that I have found my calling in London. But what do you do when most of your friends live outside of London, when you can no longer pop in for a chat? London is a lonely place and despite its hustle and bustle London can be more isolating than it appears at first glance. Sure some of my best friends live in London but what about when they are busy? What do you do next? Going out there and meeting new people is not as easy as you may think and like dating friendship is a course that doesn't always run smoothly. Having an app like Huggle, praised for its supreme security can help filter out all the 'weirdos' and match you to people who have been security checked and share the same interests in common as you. Not only can you choose the number of interests they might have to contact you, but it also uses one minute verification to make sure you are who you state you are. In an age where pedophiles and criminals lurk among us having an app that is secure and ensures that the people you are meeting are 'normal' is something that could give us all peace of mind. With the addition of the night tube, there might be a time where you want to party into the early hours of the morning but your bff needs an early night. Check who is nearby and tell them to come and say hello; there is no harm in making new friends and mastering the art of conversation once more.

Download Huggle Today

Do You Believe That We Can Learn The Art Of Conversation With Huggle?

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page