top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Boutique Spa: Microdebrasion

Having learnt the Facial Truth at Acumedic Clinic the day before I was a little apprehensive about my Microdermabrasion treatment at Boutique Spa, thinking that no other treatment could compare. After all I have high standards and Sinensis Skincare managed to blow my expectations out of the water but I ventured into Boutique Spa ( Queensway/ Baywater) with an open mind nevertheless. Upon arrival I was greeted by staff who offered me a herbal tea while I waited and after telling them I had an allergy to caffeine, they found me a mango and strawberry twinings concoction that was a delicious start to the treatment. The waiting room was next to the nail treatment bars and I watched them give pedicures and manicures with mild fascination. After about 5-10 minutes I was whisked straight into the treatment room and admitedly I found the therapist to be a little abrasive and I couldn't help but compare the treatment to the previous facial. Unlike Sinensis there seemed little effort to get to know me nor did they give me as much information as I had requested about the treatment. It seemed a little vague but I realized the therapists abrasiveness was actually more of a 'brisk, forward manner' that I was not really accustomed to and halfway through the treatment she seemed to warm up enormously. She began by dipping a cloth in medium heat water and gently cleansing the face with a deep cleaning gel to rid the face of any impurities and balance out hormonal imbalances. From the getset my therapist explained that this was not a 'deep skin treatment' and all the blackheads around my nose, chin and cheeks would still be there post-treatment.

My skin at this point was quite clear for once, although scars from old spots still lingered and when I pointed them out to my therapist she stated that microdebrasion is ideal for fading old scars, spots and blemishes until they are barely visible, because ( I presume) that the micro crystals used during the procedure would effectively chisel out imperfections. Of course getting any treatment done too often will damage the skin but getting it regularly enough to cleanse the skin mechanically rather than by hand helps entrap and get rid of lingering germs. When we touch our face it can lead to a build up of unnecessary oils or sebum which leads to breakouts and even acne so having a facial or a facial based treatment can help old habits die hard . After cleansing the skin and massaging the cleanser into my pores and upper neck, the therapist inserted the fine diamond tip onto the applicator to scrape the skin from my face before the dead cells was sucked up in a vacuum. Abrading the upper layer of my skin, microdebrasion felt comparable to using a scraper on your face; it was a little sore but the pain wasn't as excruciating as you may expect. I found it difficult to relax but then again the treatment was not designed to 'make you feel relaxed' so there were no surprises there. Described as a gentle, non-invasive treatment, microdebrasion is scientifically proven to reduce fine lines, improve skin pigmentation and acne scars and I was all too willing to put that theory to the test.

After 20-30 minutes the treatment had come to an end and the therapist left me to get myself ready to leave the spa. As expected after looking in the mirror my skin was red raw and a little tender to the touch but it was more sore than painful which makes sense given the level of the treatment. I was served another refreshing cup of tea before making my way to work for the second time that day. Post-treatment I examined my face a few days after treatment and did not notice a visible reduction in fine lines and acne scars although I did see the blackheads more visibly than I had pre-treatment and I wasn't sure as to whether microdebrasion draws the blackheads to the surface or not. That being said my skin was still clear and my skin felt softer than it had pre-treatment so I believe that microdebrasion is a treatment you have to have more than once to truly feel the effects.

Pros

- Non invasive treatment

- High quality decor and surroundings

Good level of efficiency and Therapist is well trained

- Location is 2 minutes walk from Notting Hill Gate, Bayswater and Queensway

- PR who dealt with me pre/post treatment was kind and informative

Cons

- Therapist seemed a little offish although warmed up during treatment

- Lack of information was evident

Overall Rating

7/10

Verdict

The treatment was a unique experience and I did enjoy the procedure and would not hesitate to visit again. That being said I would have given it a higher score if the hospitality was better.

Have you ever tried microdebrasion before? What were your thoughts?

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page