top of page

FOLLOW ME:

J.F Rabbit's Veg Water

Having a sensitive stomach and acid reflux issues can mean that food and drinks that are 'acid rich' can set my heartburn off and leave me in discomfort and pain. I am not meant to eat spicy, dairy rich (especially chocolate) drink too much alcohol or eat foods that can cause 'flatulence'. Yet in order to eat a balanced diet I eat many of these food groups that can cause pain, especially fruit juices like apple and orange, which may refresh my thirst but leave me clutching my stomach. Of course it is not just my acid reflux that affects my digestion, I also have a hernia, IBS, Gilberts Syndrome and Chronic Fatigue which can affect my food and drink intake immensely, thus I try and eat my 'avoided' food groups in moderation. But I never drink enough fluids and even too much plain water can affect my stomach and cause bloating, thus coming across J.F Rabbits Veg Water was enough to pique my interest . The concept of 'veg water' was never one that appealed to me having tried tomato juice which was enough to put me off for life . Yet for some inexplicable reason, the choice of 'ginger' and cucumber water appealed to me because it conjured up images of 'tranquility' and 'refreshment'. J.F Rabbit also stocked an earthy Beetroot water which appealed to me less because I am not a fan of the taste but nevertheless I tried it regardless to complete the full veg water experience.

Founded by Felix and James, they aimed to create refreshing drinks that would champion 'veg' in a market full of sugary, fruit and fizzy juices. 100 % natural, biodegradable and using as many UK sourced products as possible, J.F Rabbit's Veg Water is both gut friendly and ethically responsible. To begin with I began with 'Cucumber Water' self-described as a 'fresh pick me up' by J.F Rabbit. It smelt fresh and crisp which was a good sign and as I took a tentative sip I was pleasantly surprised. It tasted juicy, fresh and had an under bite of earthiness but not enough to make me dislike it. It was the perfect combination of 'clarity' and 'tranquility' mixed in one sugar-free drink. Having been inspired by its clean crisp taste I decided to experiment and use it in a soup and it worked perfectly. It was light enough to not overpower the other vegetables ( Carrot, Broccoli and Cabbage) but had enough of a taste to stop the soup from becoming too stodgy and eliminated the earthiness of the soup. Next up was Beetroot advertised as an 'earthy detox' and I put my presumptions to the side as I kept an open mind to write a fair review. Unfortunately the earthiness of the 'beetroot' although not overly unpleasant was not to my taste and I was unable to finish the drink.

I have never been a huge fan of beetroot so it made sense that it was not to my personal taste and I abandoned it for a swig of the ginger water instead. I had high expectations for the ginger water and out of the three I believed it would be my favourite. Ginger has been a staple in many of the dishes I cook and even in the drinks I consume so I was counting on J.F Rabbit to keep my expectations alive. Thankfully the ginger water blew the other two out of the water and its spiciness intermingled with stimulative properties helped me feel more awake than I had in a long time. Ginger is renowned for its immune boosting properties, including being recommended as an antidote to nausea, colds, flu's and a general source of antibodies that can help defend your immune system against illness. To include the ginger water in the collection made complete sense and out of the three it would not surprise me if the 'ginger water' became a best- seller. Its zinginess might make ginger an acquired taste but as someone who suffers from severe nausea and migraines most days I take a bite of raw ginger each day to help me feel better and it does work. Now thanks to J.F Rabbit I can add ginger water to my daily 'ginger' routine.

Have You Ever Tried Veg Water Before? What Are Your Thoughts?

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page