top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Twenty Four Fashion & Pantone 2016

When Pantone announced not one but two colours would be awarded superstar status in 2016 the world went into meltdown. How dare they defy expectations and venture outside of supposed fashion constructs? But slowly by slowly they began to silence their critics and fashion feeds were awash with a delicious blend of Rose Quartz and Serenity shades, like one epic fashion smoothie. But colour-blocking is no new phenomenon, quite the contrary when we read the 60's fashion archives whose icons were infamous for their mod ( black and white) looks. But I digress, before pink and blue were considered acceptable shades to clash together I was pairing my two favourite colours together because I had a thing ( and still do) for colour co-ordination, it was one of my very many passions. Yes I know I am sad, get over it. Still as 2016 draws to a close it may seem a little late to still be on the Serenity and Rose Quartz train, especially when kale and khaki have been revealed as 2017's colour of the year. But I am not quite ready to let go of pink and blue just yet and quite like my university yearbooks, I am still wearing outfits that I wore four years ago, without a care in the world. Thus when Twenty Four Fashion asked me to venture forth and explore their products there was no other option but to choose a stunning dusky rose/ceramic pink full midi tulip skirt with curved hems, the embodiment of rose quartz chic. Paired with an old mohair blue jumper and a pick of Brick Lane's finest street art, I knew that I would be onto a winner.

The tulip hem is a classic staple when it comes to nailing 'feminine chic' and having been popular in the 50's as a modest but nevertheless flirtatious skirt length, the tulip skirt has had a come back in 2016. Otherwise known as the ballerina skirt, the tulip features an a-line shape that crinkles into free-flowing but semi structured lines that reach mid calf length ( or thighs if you are super tall). Despite being a skirt that has been associated with taller frames because of its 'longer length' the tulip skirt suits all frames and can range from being a beautiful full-bodied midi-skirt to an 'ankle biter' with plenty of sophisticated flair, so don't let height become an issue. Twenty Four Seven's rose quartz 'Alicia' full tulip midi skirt also features a faux belt waist, which gives the illusion of a smaller waist and creates a 'high waisted' effect that elongates the length of your legs, a well known fashion stylist trick for tricking people into thinking you are taller than you are. As someone who is 5ft 4.5 I fall under the spectrum of being 'petite' which can make some clothes swamp my frame, especially because I am slim too at a size 6-8. My combined lack of height and slim figure can sometimes make skirts a little loose on my waist, making it fall onto my hips, giving it a frumpy appearance yet Alicia's faux high waist sat perfectly in between my waist and hips . The lightweight material also meant that it did not feel heavy on my frame and I was able to waltz around Brick Lane without a care in the world.

Naturally because the shoot was Pantone 2016 inspired the wall featuring a grinning or grimacing depending on your thoughts meme that drew out the 'Serenity' and ' Rose Quartz' elements in my outfit perfectly and the vividity of the blue stopped the outfit from looking too twee. To compliment the rose quartz tulip skirt I paired a semi-precious crystal rose gold Alice band, dainty rose gold earrings and rose gold watch, while a colour blocked satchel and heeled sandals added an element of colour and fun to the overall look. Although the combination of rose quartz and serenity is meant to be a psychological antidote to modern stress and a reassuring bout of security, for me the two colours symbolize contrasting harmony. They are the ying and yang of the 'colour' world and the two colours combined is a powerful force to be reckoned with, even in the throes of autumn/winter, when rich autumnal hues like burgundy reign supreme. Whilst rose quartz and serenity might be in their final months of 'superstar status' there is no guarantee that I wont be wearing it still to death and will continue to do so in 2017. Because lets face it, when have I ever let trends dictate my style choices?

Are You A Fan Of Rose Quartz & Serenity?

Shop The Look: Skirt: Twenty Four Fashion / Jumper- Miss Selfridge / Bag- Missguided / Necklace, Earrings & Headband- Primark/ Earrings- Majique / Watch- Sekonda

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page